May 31

Print this Post

CFUW Oakville announces 2017 Scholarship Winners

CFUW-Oakville has donated a total of $16,500 in scholarships this year to ten Oakville women graduating from publicly funded schools who intend to pursue studies at post-secondary institutions and to one mature student.

The Mature Student Award is intended to help a mature student upgrade qualifications needed to re-enter the work force or qualify for post-secondary studies. CFUW-Oakville raises funds for these awards through member donations and fundraising events. Melissa Vassallo donates the funds for the Access Award inspired by Melissa Vassallo.
CFUW-Oakville is a member of the Canadian Federation of University Women. The Oakville chapter was founded in 1949 and is a volunteer, non-partisan, non-profit, self-funded organization.
The eleven recipients of the CFUW-Oakville 2017 Awards are:
Mildred G. Allworth Award $2000
Tiluxzi Soosainathar – St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Secondary School

University Entrance Awards $1500 each
Nancy Chen – Iroquois Ridge High School
Emily Drummond –  Thomas A. Blakelock High School
Taja McLean – Thomas A. Blakelock High School
Sydni Weatherson – Thomas A. Blakelock High School

Jean Malcolm Smith Community Service Award $1500
Rachel Stubits – St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Secondary School
Shirley Henderson Community Service Award $1500
Leanne Bishop – Iroquois Ridge Secondary School
CFUW Oakville Community Service Award $1500
Laura Fallowfield – Thomas A. Blakelock High School

Performing Arts Award $1500
Maisie McLean –  Abbey Park High School
Mature Student Award $1500.00
Sabrina Raggiutti – Sheridan College
Access Award inspired by Melissa Vassallo $1000
Natasha Stasiuk – White Oaks Secondary School

Permanent link to this article: http://cfuwoakville.ca/cfuw-oakville-announces-2017-scholarship-winners/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>